Tags

,

Eddie Lawrence: The Old Philosopher

The Old Philosopher

The Old Philosopher

Yesterday I mentioned that I was looking for a different comedy bit than It’s In The Book, but found it first. Well, this is what I was originally looking for. The only thing I could remember from The Old Philosopher was the music and the line “Never give up, never give up, never give up…that ship.”

I don’t remember when I first heard The Old Philosopher. It had to have been on the radio because I’m sure we never had it on a record. I suppose we could have seen him on TV, but somehow I don’t think that happened.

This is also another case of not knowing the name of the performer until I found the bit on YouTube. I’m not all that fond of the video that goes along with this performance, but you take what you can find. I’ll also admit that I don’t find it very amusing now I did when I was a kid. Tastes change.

As I was composing yesterday’s post in my mind yesterday, there was another song from my kidhood that came to mind. Most men of my age will remember The Ballad Of Davy Crockett from the Disney TV show and movie. I’ll admit to giving in to nostalgia and buying the DVD of the movie and enjoying it again this past (perhaps current, there is snow on the ground again this morning) winter.

Well, I feel like I’ve exhausted this topic, at least for the time being. I have no idea what the topic will be for my next post, but I do know it won’t be about memories from the 1950’s.

I hope you have a great weekend.

