Tags

,

Spring is coming

Spring is coming

The trees are still bare. The grass hasn’t started to get green yet. But you can tell spring is coming from the angle of the sun in the sky and the types of birds that are now coming to our back yard. I’m ready.

***

As I was waking up this morning, I heard (in my head, not for real) a woman’s voice singing “We’ve got nothing but time, we’ve got plenty of time,” over and over. She was singing it to the tune ofย Old Devil Moon. I don’t have a clue as to what it means. What is my subconscious mind (if there is such a thing) trying to tell me. Your input would be appreciated.

More interesting to me is the fact that I haven’t yet identified the singer. I know for sure that it isn’t Diana Krall, Nancy Wilson, Linda Ronstadt, Melody Gardot, Judy Garland or Sarah Vaughan. I’ve also ruled out all of the folk music singers like Joan Baez, Joni Mitchell and Mary Travers. It isn’t Diana Ross, Rosemary Clooney, Joni James or Sade. I haven’t ruled out Joanie Sommers, but now that I think about it, it might well be June Christy. Hmmm. Yes, I would say there is an 85% chance that it is June Christy. I feel better now. Except, why was June Christy in my dream? Now, that’s a puzzler.

If some of those names aren’t familiar to you, check them out on YouTube. You might like what you hear. And, no, that isn’t an exhaustive list of names that I went through in my mind, but rather, a representative sample.

***

Yesterday I received an automated phone call from Sears, telling me that I had to call them to reschedule having a repair person come to fix our water heater. It stopped working, for good, a week ago. (In case you are worried for us, we’ve been heating water in a jumbo soup pot to get by.) I was upset that I had to call to reschedule, but I got right on it and called the number they provided.

When I called in, an automated voice told me that all of the customer representatives were busy, but that my call was important to them, so would I please wait for the next available representative. Sure. While I waited, another recorded voice kept trying to sell me coverage plans that I didn’t want. After about five minutes, another automated voice came on and asked me if I wanted to have them call me back when someone was free to talk to me. Finally, a sensible way to handle their calls. I pushed 1 for yes, and hung up.

About five minutes later the phone rang, and a young man identified himself as working for Sears and asked how he could help me. I explained about the automated call I had received, and he told me that he would transfer me to the right person.

Of course I was put on hold where another recorded voice kept telling me that all of their reps were busy, that my call was important, a rep would be with me shortly, and in the meantime did I know… That went on for about fifteen minutes. About half way through that wait I started having visions of a group of reps sitting around in a break area, drinking coffee and eating doughnuts.

Finally a real person came on the line. He asked for my telephone number so he could pull up my information on his computer. I complied, but wondered why their phone system software didn’t supply that information. He said, “Yes Mr. Houseman, I see that a repair technician is scheduled to come to your home between 8 a.m. and noon on Wednesday the 19th. ” I told him he was correct. He asked if the part for the repair had arrived. I told him that it had, but didn’t snidely go on to tell him that he should have been able to track that through the USPS website. Then it got a little weird when he asked me for my name. Had their system crashed so that my name was no longer on his screen? Did he think I was just pretending to be me? But, I complied and gave him my name. He verified my address. Then we got to the nitty-gritty, rescheduling the repair. I asked him if, since the part was already here, the repair visit could be moved forward. He said no, that the first time available was Wednesday the 19th. Did I prefer morning or afternoon. Morning, of course. “Alright,” said he, “the technician will be at your home between 8 a.m. and noon on Wednesday 19th. Can I help me in any other way?”

So, after half an hour to forty-five minutes on the phone; a call that they said I must make; nothing changed on the appointment. I can’t wait for the customer satisfaction survey.

