Tags

,

Places to go, things to do

Places to go, things to do

I have lived in Lafayette for almost a quarter century. And yet, there are opportunities for fun that I haven’t yet tapped. Just look at the sign in this picture, and you’ll see three that I haven’t yet visited. Well, this year, when the weather gets better, I plan on seeing all three. Maybe I can talk Cindy into going with me; but if not, I’ll do it by myself.

All of these places are just a few miles from here. I first heard about Wolf Park in a text section of an issue of ElfQuest comics when I still lived in Auburn and still collected comic books. Wolves are an integral part of the comic’s story line, and Wolf Park became a place visited (I think) by the comic’s creator Wendy Pini and her spouse Richard. At least if was mentioned prominently in an editorial. I suppose I could search for that specific comic to find out, but evidently I haven’t cataloged that series yet. That’s another activity I need to get back to and finish. If you are interested in the comics, they are all available for viewing and reading in electronic form at the ElfQuest website.

http://www.elfquest.com/gallery/OnlineComics3.html

If you want to know more about Wolf Park, check out http://wolfpark.org/

Prophetstown State Park has been open for a few years, but again, I haven’t been there yet. The price of admission gets you into both the park and Historical Prophetstown, which is called a “sustainable horse-powered farming an education center.” I know a few people who have been there, and they say it is a great place to take young children. I think that geezers like me might find it fun as well.

My next post will also have a tie in to Battleground, as well as revisit another recent post. That’s my teaser.

