Tags

,

Battleground monument

Tippecanoe Battlefield monument

I was on the north side of Lafayette yesterday morning and decided to drive on to Battleground, Indiana. It’s less than ten miles from where I had been. It has been a long time since I was last there. I’ll be going back once winter is over and there are leaves on the trees.

***

I’ve been spending  lot of time recently searching my past in hopes of determining who I am now. That’s one of the reasons so many of my posts are using the tag “memories.” Sounds self-indulgent, doesn’t it? I’m pretty sure that remembering things from the past goes along with growing older. Since memories keep popping into my head, I may as well put them to work for me.

I’m starting to think of these disparate memories as pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. All of the pieces are spread out on a table with no discernible pattern. But if you take the time to gather together like colored pieces you can start fitting them together and begin seeing patterns. You then work on fitting the patterns together until you can see the complete picture. I’m still seeing individual pieces, but starting to get ideas about patterns. I’ll eventually work it out, because I really believe that all things are connected. I also see that this process is going to take a long, long time.

Earlier today I was playing a mix CD of rock music. Supertramp’s The Logical Song came on and I realized that it was pretty well describing the way I was feeling about my project of self-rediscovery. I have a feeling that I’ll be listening to it a lot more in the near future.

If, while reading my posts, you see patterns before I do, please let me know. I can use all the help I can get.

