Tags

I used to have a green thumb

I used to have a green thumb

I took this picture in the apartment I had when I lived in Auburn. I had a lot better luck with plants before I moved to Lafayette. I’m not sure what happened to my prowess as a plant grower. Nothing good, that’s for sure.

***

Now that I’ve decided on how to handle the post that I am drafting, I don’t feel the need to rush it into final form. I guess I was thinking more about the final product than the process of finalizing it. But, like a trip for me, the journey is always more fun than the destination. So, in case you were wondering, this is not the post that I mentioned last time. But, it is coming.

Yesterday was not a good day. My imaginary toe was throbbing with phantom pain most of the day. I even took aspirin in hopes that the pain would ease, but it didn’t. Today there is no pain, but the toe-that-isn’t-there is itching. Yesterday I imagined the toe floating in chemicals in a glass jar, expanding and contracting with the throbbing pain I was feeling. Today I can see it wriggling in that same jar as the itching continues. Reflected in the glass of the jar is the face of a mad scientist laughing hysterically. It’s good to know that someone has feelings of some kind about the situation.

***

I’ve been thinking recently about the concept that everything is connected. By everything, I mean that everything an individual knows or thinks is connected in some way.  It’s kind of like the six degrees of separation, only not just for people, and maybe more than six degrees. With this definition, the obvious link for an individual is the brain. If we then expand it to the more familiar concept of six degrees of separation, than doesn’t it follow that EVERYTHING we know or think is connected to everything else in the world? Hmmm?

