Tags

,

They want in

They want in

We have had quite a bit of snow in the past week. I took this picture with my smart phone the other day when I noticed the birds looking longingly into the bedroom. I give them food, I’m not giving them a room.

***

I’ve noticed over the past few years that most politicians have a standard way of dealing with scandal, or the appearance of scandal, in their official dealings. The more callow of these politicians find someone to fire. The person fired may or may not be responsible for the troubling events, but a firing must happen. The act of firing someone is meant to a) show that the politician is taking things seriously and b) indicate that the politician is taking a firm hand on the reins and acting with determination. In reality, the politician is usually just tying to perform a sleight of hand to draw attention away from the original embarrassing action that made him or her look bad.

Television talking heads and newspaper columnists are not immune to advising politicians to fire someone, anyone, quickly. Consider how many people were calling for the dismissal of Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary of Health and Human Services, when the website for the Affordable Care Act was having troubles. The President had the good sense to ignore those people, and to work on getting the site functioning. While it seems counter-intuitive, this style could come from The Leadership Secrets of Genghis Khan, which may be out of print.

***

I’ve been simplifying my life a bit in the past months. I stopped posting and reading posts on Facebook back in October. More recently, about a month ago, I stopped checking Twitter feeds daily. I look at them once every couple of weeks now. I don’t seem to have missed anything important. It makes me wonder how important social media is. More to the point, I ask what improvement social media has made to our lives? It has replaced face-to-face conversation; it seems to have added to the incivility, the coarseness of discourse; and it is a time waster. I, for one, am better off without going to Facebook and Twitter.

