RSCN2357b

What are they talking about?

It’s obvious that I snapped this picture from far off, then later I manipulated it to zoom further in, brightened it, and removed some of the noise. When I see the police conversing this way, and I see it often, I always wonder what they are talking about. Are they deciding where to set up the speed trap? Where are they going to meet for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner? Where can they go out with their teen-aged girlfriends so that there wives don’t hear about it? I always wonder.

Every year Cindy and I have a holiday party between Thanksgiving and Christmas. We invite family, friends, people we work with, and some acquaintances. So that the number of people attending doesn’t get out of hand, we stop inviting people who don’t attend for three years in a row (the old three strike rule) and try to invite a few new people who have come into our lives. I think the largest gathering we’ve had was around 85 people. We didn’t count, but there were probably around 70 people this year.

One of the surprises we had this year was that some guests took it on themselves to invite people we hadn’t planned on seeing, and those surprise “guests” showed up. Am I wrong in thinking that one should not invite people to a party that one is not hosting? I wouldn’t be upset if the “inviters” had cleared it with Cindy or me first, but that didn’t happen.

While the party is in progress I always have Christmas music playing in the living room. I burn CDs of the holiday music. The songs are a mixture of sacred and secular, old and new, as well as vocal and instrumental. I’ve also included a song or two that celebrates Hanukkah and Kwanzaa. In past years I’ve noticed that someone had lowered the volume on the stereo. That’s OK. This year, however, someone had the audacity to turn the stereo off altogether. Am I wrong in thinking that the person who did that went beyond the bounds of making themselves feel at home?

Meanwhile in the family room, people were eating, talking, and playing cards. Evidently someone was bored with the party though, and decided to find the TV remote and turn on a football game. Am I wrong in thinking that guests to a party shouldn’t inflict their boredom and proclivities towards sports viewing on other guests? If you would rather watch the game, stay home…or at least turn on the IU basketball game that I chose to give up watching that evening.

In the last paragraph I told you that people were playing cards. At our party people play Euchre, other card  games, BINGO, and board games. If they win the appropriate number of times they are welcome to choose a wrapped prize from under our tree. The prizes are inexpensive; we never pay more than $5 for a prize, and usually pay less. When the party was over I saw that there were a few prizes left under the tree. When I took a closer look I saw that a couple of them had been opened but replaced under the tree. Someone evidently wanted to make sure that they picked a prize that they liked and wanted, rather than taking the luck of the draw. Am I wrong in thinking that there is something fundamentally wrong with being so invested in getting rather than giving?

No, I’m probably just being a crotchety old geezer. Am I wrong in thinking that “old geezer” is redundant?

