Tags

,

Colorado

Colorado

I don’t remember what year I took this picture. I only know that it was on one of the trips I took with Cindy when she was there for training and I was there for fun. Maybe I can find the negatives and get the date from them.

***

I seldom use the word hate. It seems so final. As if there can never be a moderation of feeling , or even tone. That’s why it came as a surprise to me when I admitted to myself a few days ago that I hated working for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development (IDWD) the last three or four years that I was there. For most of the previous twenty-five years I either loved or liked my work. Why did I hate the last few years? Good question.

I guess it comes down to a few major things. Among those things was the fact that the people I worked for had become as politicized as the people at the top of the agency had become. If you have read previous posts of mine you know of my general disregard, some might say disgust, for politicians. I feel the same about their toadies. As a class, I don’t believe you can find a larger group of egoists. With those egos, and self-regard, comes a love of drama. Would anybody love them as the “wonderful” people they are without the drama to bring attention to themselves?

An ancillary reason is the fact that IDWD seemed to change their mission from aiding people who needed monetary support and wanted help in finding employment, as well as helping employers find workers, to offering just enough help to make the agency head and the governor look good in the press. It also helped if we could cut back on costs and staff.

When it reached that point, I no longer fit in. I knew it, and yet I tried to stay on. Looking back, it is amazing that I lasted as long as I did. It’s even more amazing that for years I described my end days there as depressing and a bad fit. What it boiled down to was that I hated it. I disliked some of the people who I worked with, but I hated the job. I hated going to work.

After IDWD and I finally parted ways, I felt like a burden had been lifted from my back. I took a couple of part-time jobs between those days and the time when I fully retired. Those jobs were days of sunshine compared to IDWD. I met and worked with wonderful people.

My life is better now.

