Tags

,

1996 - Mom & Dad's back yard

1996 – Mom & Dad’s back yard

This over-exposed picture was taken in 1996, and is a shot of my parent’s back yard. I haven’t been back there since the house was sold, about a decade ago.

***

I have really been having a hard time coming up with things to post recently. That’s why there hasn’t been much posted. But unless I give up on the blog completely, I need to start posting again. Today I’ll talk about movies and TV shows I’ve been watching on DVD lately.

***

I watched the Sci-Fi channel’s Tin Man mini-series from 2007. I’m not sure why I didn’t watch it when it was on originally, unless it was because I didn’t want to dedicate six hours of my life to a mini-series back then. I found a Blu Ray DVD of the mini-series on sale recently, so I spent four hours watching on Saturday, and then watched the remainder on Sunday. I truly enjoyed it, so the sale purchase was worth it to me.

There is one scene in the first two-hour segment of the show that made me sit up and take notice. I had heard of Zooey Deschenel, but had never watched her in anything, nor had I heard her sing (still haven’t for that matter).  In the scene I’m talking about, she is wearing a party dress and has a flower in her hair. I swear she looked like a Linda Ronstadt photo from the album Simple Dreams. If I didn’t know better, I would have guessed that they were mother and daughter.

***

I was in a movie mood this morning, so I popped in a pirated copy of And Lee’s Hulk. About twenty minutes into the movie the language changed from English to French. That was a surprise. Rather than try to translate the dialogue from facial expressions, I gave up on the movie. This isn’t the first bad experience I’ve had with a pirated movie. I once bought a copy of what I believe to be a pirated version of one of Buster Crabbe’s Flash Gordon serials. The first episode was fine, but when I went on to the second episode, there was no sound at all. No English, no French, not even the pop and sizzle of the rocket ships.

Since today is Halloween, I went for a movie that better reflected the day, and my mood. I put in the original Karloff Frankenstein. It isn’t my favorite movie in the series; that would be Son Of Frankenstein with Karloff, Basil Rathbone, Bela Lugosi, Lionel Atwill, Richard Greene and others.

An interesting, to me, piece of trivia is that in 1939 Rathbone and Atwill both appeared in Son Of Frankenstein and The Hound Of The Baskervilles. I have always thought that the scene in The Hound Of The Baskervilles where the hound chases Richard Greene through the moors is scarier than anything in Frankenstein.

***

One last item, this one from television, is the documentary Superheroes: A Never-Ending Battle that was on PBS a while back. There were a number of commentators in the documentary whose name I recognized as comic book writers, artists, and editors from the days when I was a collector (and more importantly a reader). I was surprised by the captions under their pictures that identified them as Comic Book Historian. You probably couldn’t count on the fingers of two hands the number of comic book historians, unless you count the French. when I was growing up. Now it seems to be an over-crowded field. Of course, that’s just my take on it.

