Tags

,

Another picture of young Trina

Another picture of young Trina

This is another photo of Trina from when she was still living with us on Eastland Avenue. I don’t know that she ever wore this dress in public. My memory isn’t that good.

***

This is not the post that I planned on doing today, but it is what I’ve been thinking about for the last hour or so. I decided to inflict these thoughts on people who read Classical Gasbag, instead of just internalizing the whole process. Well, it is my blog.

Yesterday evening Cindy and went to watch our grandson, Mason, play football. We had a good time watching him play. After the game we gave our oldest granddaughter, Macey, a ride home. Cindy had one of my Kingston Trio CDs playing. It was their Time To Think album; their first with overtly topical/political songs included. At one point Macey, who was probably oblivious to the existence of The Kingston Trio, mentioned that they sounded similar to Mumford And Sons. She ‘s right, of course.

After we dropped off Macey and headed home, Cindy confessed to me that she had no idea who Mumford And Sons were. That made me feel somewhat superior since I did know…I take my feelings of superiority where I can…they come around so seldom. Then she said that I should burn a CD of folk music for Macey. I told her that I didn’t know what Macey would like. Cindy then started listing songs that I should include. Most of the songs were either on the CD we had playing, or were Peter, Paul & Mary songs. It was pretty obvious that what Cindy wanted was a CD of folk songs that she liked, and that she assumed Macey would also like. She might be right. I have no insight into Macey’s likes or dislikes musically. I did take it as a positive that she had listened to Mumford And Sons, but beyond that???

Still, I enjoy burning CDs for people whom I like, and I love Macey. However, I like putting my own stamp on the CDs I burn, so I didn’t want to be limited to Kingston Trio and Peter, Paul & Mary recordings. How could I burn a CD of folk songs from the 60’s and 70’s without including songs by The Weavers, Joan Baez, Pete Seeger, The Chad Mitchell Trio, The Limeliters, The Brothers Four, and the list goes on. Of course I couldn’t do a reasonable overview of the music in just one CD, I would have to have multiple CDs so that I could also include some of the other individuals and groups such as Tom Paxton, The Journeymen, Judy Collins, Malvina Reynolds, Joe & Eddie, and the list goes on.

Also, Macey is in high school, so some of social/political references in the songs wouldn’t be known to her, so I would have to write notes to go along with the artists and songs. That would only be fair (don’t get me started on the lack of liner notes on albums today). Yes, this would be a fun project; one that would keep me busy for months.

But then I wondered, do high school students even listen to CDs unless their parents are playing them? I don’t know, but my guess is that they are more likely to listen to their iPod. So, in effect, I would be creating these CDs more for my enjoyment than for Macey’s.

That is as far as my thought process has reached. I’ve reached that internal philosophical point where I need to decide on whether to go ahead, or to drop the idea. Maybe I’ll just burn a CD for Cindy.

