Tags

,

Bayh Fischer & Bowne (sounds like a law firm)

I don’t remember the year I took this picture, but Evan Bayh was the governor of Indiana, so that puts it somewhere from 1989 to 1997. He was visiting the Lafayette Network office (if that was the name being used then). In this picture he is charming Julie Fischer and Pam Bowne. Most of the pictures I have from that day show him in the WorkOne Express section of the office.

***

When I went out this morning it was cool, bright and beautiful. The CD playing in the car was one by The Beach Boys. Between the weather and the music it reminded me starting an undergrad school year at IU in Bloomington. I always remember the first few days of each of those years as sunny and bright, not too hot and not too cool, and always exciting. That can’t be completely true, because I’m sure it rained at least once during those years, but my memories want bright and sunny, not wet and dreary. The excitement was there no matter what the weather.

As to the music, I don’t believe I bought a Beach Boys album until I was away from Bloomington and in the army. Their songs seemed to be on the radio all of the time, so I guess I didn’t feel like I had to buy any of their music. By the time I got around to buying anything, they were already putting out “The Best of” type albums, as well as new material. They are one of those groups who, to me, sound best in the summer and autumn.

***

Later this morning I watched a DVD of An American Master Production, Yours For A Song: The Women Of Tin Pan Alley. Most of the music was written before I was born, in the 1920’s, 30’s and 40s, but It still gets performed today. I didn’t realize the how many songs that I love were written or collaborated on by women. They are songs such as The Way You Look TonightI’m In The Mood For Love, A Fine RomanceOn the Sunny Side Of The Street, and Willow Weep For Me. Those are just a few of the songs. Of the women profiled in this show, Dorothy Fields was the only name I recognized.

As I said, most of the songs were written before I was born, but I grew up hearing this music. I was most interested in folk music and rock and roll, but I heard these songs also. It was probably when I started buying Frank Sinatra albums in college, back in Bloomington, when I started to really pay attention to the lyrics and the melodies of American standards. They are standards for a reason.

