Tags

,

I'm feeling artsy today

I’m feeling artsy today

What says artsy more than a black and white photograph that started out as a digital photo that has been gray-scaled? Well, maybe one that has been grey-scaled and then had patches of color added. Perhaps I’ll try that later.

***

I’m sure I am not the only person to think of this, but it was a new idea to me. I usually buy plain instant oatmeal so that I can better control my sugar intake. Normally I will zap it in the microwave and then add a packet of sweetener and a dash of cinnamon. It’s good. It isn’t great, but it is good. This morning I decided to try something different, so before zapping the bowl’s contents, I added a couple drops of orange extract. After cooking, I added my packet of sweetener, stirred thoroughly and ate the gloop. I love it! It is better than what I have been doing, and certainly better than the flavored stuff that you find in the grocery store. I’ll be making more experiments, vanilla extract is next on my list, but I’ll also be trying dry ingredients such as powdered lemon peel. This could make breakfast fun again.

***

Cindy and I were in Manchester, England just over ten years ago. She went as a presenter at an International conference, discussing drug courts, cooperation with other law enforcement entities and such. I took vacation time and paid my own way. We took a side trip to Paris, France on the way home. Perhaps I’ll post about that trip at some point, but for now I just wanted to set the background.

I was looking at pictures from that trip a couple of weeks ago and noticed that in some of the pictures taken in Paris, I’m wearing a shirt that is still in my closet. It doesn’t just hang there, I wear it fairly often in the summer. The point is, I seldom discard anything for which I still have a use. I gave up trying to dress contemporarily a long time ago. Cindy still tries to get me to be more fashionable, but it seldom works. I’m an old fuddy-duddy who doesn’t plan to change unless forced to.

