Tags

, ,

Still another barn

Still another barn

As long as there are wooden barns, I’ll be photographing them and posting them. In case you were wondering.

***

I started working on this post back on Monday the 22nd, but go sidetracked and didn’t get back to it. I decided on this topic in reaction to Morning Joe dedicating three hours to people gushing over the birth of the royal baby. When it became obvious that nothing of significance was going to be covered that Monday morning, I decided to watch an old movie instead. My choice was The Drum starring Sabu. I thought that a movie that glorified a make-believe benign overlordship of Great Britain in the subcontinent of Asia fit the bill. The major action in the movie takes place on the India (now Pakistan) and Afghanistan border.

The major villain in the movie was played by Raymond Massey. His character was Prince Ghul. This movie was released in 1938, just two years before Massey was nominated as best actor for his portrayal of Abraham Lincoln.

Of course Sabu was the star of the movie. He was 14 in 1938. I used to watch Sabu movies on television on a regular basis when I was a kid. I can’t recall a movie when he wore more than a vest and pants; and often shucked the vest for long periods of time.

I can’t watch a Sabu movie, or even hear his name without thinking of the John Prine Song, Sabu Visits The Twin Cities Alone. The song, which was on his Bruised Orange album, is funny enough, but the version on his album, John Prine Live, has a very funny introduction. At least it is funny to people like me who have watched a number of Sabu movies.

This post would have been longer if I had finished it back on the 22nd, but as time passed, so did some of my ideas…I think. You have to decide if this post was better late than never.

