Tags

,

Barn, yes another one

Barn. Yes, another one

Will I ever get tired of posting pictures of barns? Probably not. I’ve been taking pictures of them for at least thirty years.

***

I’m listening to Ry Cooder’s Paradise and Lunch album as I work on this post. I blame that on a Volkswagen commercial. You have probably seen it recently. The commercial evokes memories of the TV show Northern Exposure because it is set in Alaska and has a moose, or perhaps a large elk, standing in the middle of a street. But Northern Exposure isn’t the reason I put on Ry Cooder this morning. No, the commercial has a version of Dark End Of the Street playing in the background. When I hear that song I think of the covers done by Linda Ronstadt and – TA DA – Ry Cooder.

The cover of Dark End Of The Street in the commercial is performed by Cat Power. I Googled it to find out who the singer was. Cat Power. At first I thought that it was a band name (and it was originally), but it turns out to be the stage name of a singer who is also known as Chan Marshall. I’ll be listening to more of her music in the near future, just to see if I like anything else she has recorded.

Let’s get back to Ry Cooder. I had never heard of him until Steve Goodman mentioned him on the TV show Soundstage (see my post Day 321) when introducing the song Boomer’s Story. I loved that song, and later found out that Ry Cooder had recorded the song and used it as the title of one of his albums. I have to admit that when I bought the album I was disappointed in his version of Boomer’s Story but loved the rest of the album. I became a fan. I first heard his Dark End Of The Street (see I tied it back) on his album Show Time. That album is my favorite of all the Cooder albums that I own.

I once mentioned to a friend that I had read that Ry Cooder used to play in Captain Beefheart’s Magic Band. My friend looked at me quizzically and asked who Captain Beefheart was. Really? I don’t profess to be an expert on music from the 60’s and 70’s, thought I have a nodding acquaintance with it, but even I have heard (of) Captain Beefheart. I’m not a fan, but his existence is well documented.

Over the years I’ve bought 8 or 9 of Cooder’s albums, and Show Time remains my favorite. Why aren’t I listening to that album right now? I’m taking it to the car to listen to as I run errands later this morning. It is a great album for summer weather. And that’s why this is a Ry Cooder morning.

