Tags

Another country scene

Another country scene

The question is, “Was I taking a picture of the corn, or of the barn?” I could make a case for either scenario.

***

Let me tell you about a dream I had a few nights ago. Since I seldom remember my dreams, I always feel that the remembered ones are significant, not just crazy. Though I must admit that the ones I remember are always odd.

I dreamt that I was in bed, but I was not alone in the bed. There was no one human in the bed, but rather there was a large, poisonous albino snake in bed with me. The snake was not only large, poisonous and an albino, but also it talked…in English. How odd. I was very nervous to say the least. I am not fond of snakes to begin with, but to find one in bed with me was more than disconcerting. The snake was trying to reassure me that it would not bite me, but I was not reassured when it slithered behind me (I was lying on my left side in a semi-fetal position), and I could no longer see it. I could feel it close behind my neck as it spoke in soothing tones. I didn’t care what it said, I was imagining it sinking its fangs into my neck.

I decided that I had to get out of the bed without being attacked by the snake, but knew that it could strike faster than I could roll out. I pondered the situation briefly as the snake continued to speak. I tensed all of my muscles, and then flexed my way out of the bed. I know that it sounds unrealistic, but it was a dream after all.

At that point I woke up…standing beside the bed. That has never happened to me before, and I hope it never happens again.

I thought that I should try to find an interpretation of this dream on the Internet, but I am just as confused after doing a quick search. One website told me that a dream of a poisonous has something to do with corruption or contamination, or that I lack integrity…stupid website. Elsewhere on that same site I’m told that a white snake represents something genuine or positive in your life that corrupts or contaminates everything else around it. Huh?

On other websites I’m told that to dream of snakes, is a foreboding of evil in its various forms and stages. If they bite you, you will succumb to evil influences, and enemies will injure your business.

I’ve given up trying to find an explanation of the dream, but I’m pretty sure that getting out of bed in my sleep shows that I want to avoid big white poisonous snakes…that talk.

