Tags

, ,

Barn northeast of Brookston

Barn northeast of Brookston

I took this picture a few weeks ago, but just got around to posting it. I should spend more time on this blog, and take more pictures to use.

***

I tried a new recipe last night. Well, it was new for me. I think it turned out pretty good, and so did Cindy, so I decided to share it:

3 large, skinless chicken breasts

½ cup Poppy Seed salad dressing

1 tsp. lemon juice

12 to 15 Ritz Crackers (Roasted Vegetable)

Salt and Pepper

 Pre-heat oven to 400°.  Crush crackers, or use a food processor, to use crumbs as breading. Mix salad dressing and lemon juice in a separate bowl. Coat the chicken breasts in wet mixture, then in breading. Place the chicken breasts on a foil lined tray that has been oiled (I used Olive Oil Pam). Bake in oven for 55 minutes. The finished chicken was moist and cooked through.

 Smaller, thinner, chicken breasts might use less cooking time.

I hope it works as well for you as it did for me. I love trying new things, and I’m glad Cindy has a grateful palate.

***

I don’t think I’ve related this before, but if I have, please bear with me. I went to Menard’s a week or two ago to pick up some paint for Cindy. A very attractive girl/woman, college age I would surmise, asked if she could help me. I had the color and code number written down, so I handed her the slip of paper and asked for a quart of that paint. She fetched the paint and then asked, “Do you want me to shake it for you?”

Oh, the responses that went through my mind…but I settled for a non-salacious, “Yes, please.” I was raised to be polite.

***

 I’ve been listening to two CDs that I borrowed from the library. The first is Fritz Reiner conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra playing Richard Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben and Don Juan. I hadn’t heard Ein Heldenleben before, and found that I liked it very much.

I liked the second CD even better. It is Eiji Oue conducting the Minnesota Orchestra in Respighi’s Belkis, Queen Of ShebaDance Of The Gnomes, and The Pines Of Rome. Wow. I’ll be looking to buy this music soon. I’ve heard The Pines Of Rome before, and I was really impressed with Belkis, Queen Of Sheba. There is a lot of classical music that I haven’t listened to, so I’m glad our library has a good collection.

