Tags

Mary's cat

Mary’s cat

My good friend, Mary, sent this cat home to stir me up. She knows, and I think secretly revels in the fact that I am not a cat fancier. So, I took this picture to show her what I thought the proper use of an unmoving cat should be. Even better than this cat would be one that had undergone “fixing” at a taxidermy establishment. Perhaps when Mary’s live cats leave this mortal coil, that will be their fate. That way she could keep them around and not have to feed them, or let them slaughter wild birds and bunny rabbits. Think about it, Mary.

***

Once again my musical choices have led me from one thought to another. I was watching a DVD of Joni Mitchell’s Shadows and Light concert tour from 1979. Three things struck me while watching. 1) Women’s fashion must have been particularly bad that year. Let’s face it, baggy Capri pants, or maybe they were pedal pushers, while wearing short heels scream out, “Yes! They do make your butt look big!” I will allow that Capri pants have not been a style I have liked on most women. I don’t think anyone but Mary Tyler Moore has ever looked good in them; that was on The Dick Van Dyke TV show in the ’60s, and hers were not baggy.

2) I was unfamiliar with most of the songs in the concert. I haven’t purchased a Joni Mitchell album since Ladies Of  The Canyon. I was familiar with a couple of the songs, Coyote and Free Man In Paris, but the other songs were new to me even though I recognized some of the titles. Oh. I also knew Why Do Fools Fall In Love which she sang with The Persuasions. Most of the music was enjoyable. Some of the accompanying videos were a bit strange. Joni Mitchell on ice skates pretending to soar like a black bird was different.

3) She had a dynamite band. Pat Metheny on guitar, Jaco Pastorius on bass, Lyle Mays on keyboards, Michael Brecker on sax, and Don Alias on drums were super. I didn’t realize just how good Don Alias was until I watched this DVD. Listening to Michael Brecker started me thinking about John Klemmer and his sax playing, so I’m listening to his Lifestyle album while I’m here at the keyboard. And once again I ask myself why I enjoy Klemmer’s music but turn up my nose at Kenny G. Well, the simple answer is that I feel emotions in John Klemmer’s playing, but that emotion seems to be missing when I hear Kenny G. There is also my snob reaction that Kenny G only plays for the masses, and that no self-respecting serious musician would wear his hair that way. I admit to being shallow.

