Tags

,

Another rainy day in Lafayette

Another rainy day in Lafayette

I took this picture through our front window yesterday. I was tired of going outside and getting wet without the benefit of a bar of soap. I had been out twice already, and didn’t stop feeling damp until early evening.

I started working on this post four days ago, but never finished it. I’ve changed the picture twice, and changed my mind about the topic(s) more than that. I may change my mind again before I post this.

***

The last time we ate Chinese food, my fortune cookie was a bit philosophical. it said, “There can be no existence of evil as a force to the healthy-minded individual.” There was also printing on the other side of the slip (a first for me) that said, LEARN CHINESE – Cook [a Chinese symbol] (zuò) [a Chinese symbol] (cài). I believe the symbols are called hanzi, but don’t quote me on that. I tried looking them up but I confess to failure. The first symbol looked a lot like one I found that translated into NATIONAL. The second one looked like DENGUE FEVER. I’m pretty sure that was not what was on the fortune. Oh, my lucky numbers were 41, 35, 33, 44, 20, 52. The quote on the first side was from William James, though he received no attribution on the fortune slip. I don’t know if we will be ordering food from this restaurant in the future.

***

A wink’s as good a nod to a blind man. That is a quote from something I saw on TV, or on a DVD, I’m not sure which. I only remember jotting it down because I liked it. I seem to remember that it was spoken by some unsavory character to another, more unsavory, character in whatever I was watching. I had never heard the saying before, so I Googled it, and found that it was a borrowed from an older, 17th century, English saying, “A nod is as good as a wink to a blind horse.”  I like that. I just wish I could remember what I was watching that started this whole train of thought and exploration.

***

To go along with the phrases and quotes I’ve already mentioned, there is one more, taken from one of my favorite TV shows from the 80’s, Robin of Sherwood. I thought of it when I heard the news about the Senate’s vote on gun safety the other day, and that one of my senator’s voted against it. The quote is,  “Nothing is ever forgotten.” Dan Coats won’t be running again soon, but when he does, that vote will not be forgotten.

