Tags

,

Early spring in Indiana

Early spring in Indiana

Now this is what the weather is supposed to be like in Indiana during tourney time! It was always like this when I was a kid in high school; but then I grew up in a Lake Effect area. I was ready for spring a couple of days ago, but I can hold off and enjoy this weather. I went out this morning and shoveled enough snow so that Cindy, our bread-winner, could get to work. I’m a good husband.

***

One of my Christmas gifts last year was a gift card for Lands’ End. I used it to purchase a man’s sweater. Since then I have been getting catalogs in the mail from them, and that’s fine, except for the fact that the contents of the catalogs are predominately women’s fashions. The catalog that arrived today is entirely women’s clothing. I enjoy looking at pictures of attractive women wearing swim suits and summer wear, but I don’t want to purchase any. I’ve pretty much stopped buying clothing for Cindy, and I don’t wear women’s clothing myself…never have…never plan to. If that makes me old-fashioned, no pun intended, then I plead guilty.

***

While I was showering this morning a word popped into my head that I hadn’t seen or heard in years, perhaps decades: agitprop. The word is Russian in origin and is what is known as a portmanteau word, the combination of agitatsiya (agitation) and propaganda. The definition is Political strategy in which techniques of agitation and propaganda are used to influence public opinion. I’m sure I first came across the term in one of the spy thrillers I read back in the 60’s or 70’s. But I have no idea why I thought of that term this morning. Ah, well. That’s my brain.

