Tags

,

Cindy after accepting her award

Cindy after accepting her award

I’m sorry about the (lack of) quality of this picture. I took it with my cell phone under less than optimum conditions, and then tried to auto-enhance the original because it was so dark. At any rate, this is a photo of Cindy speaking after being presented with her award for 2013 Woman of Distinction from the YWCA. She will tell you that she did a poor job speaking, but she is wrong. She was nervous, she was very emotional, and she didn’t have prepared remarks, but she did a fine job. Sometimes she is too hard on herself.

***

This morning I was thinking about all of the people who were recognized at the banquet last night. If I could choose one song that described the attitude of all of those people, it would be He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother. Here is a link to The Hollies version of the song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1KtScrqtbc. I also like the Neil Diamond version on his Tap Root Manuscript album http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBGTqo6_lLE.

When I listened to the song again this morning I thought, “Let’s all send a link to the song to our congressional Representatives and Senators, and maybe they will rethink the way they approach the budget.” But that was a silly thought. They are politicians. Politicians have egos so large they can seldom believe they were ever wrong about anything. At least that has been my experience over the years, having to deal with them at the local, county and state level.

Jumping back to The Hollies, I have always thought that they recorded some of their best music after Graham Nash left the group to join David Crosby and Stephen Stills. At least, most of my favorite Hollies’ songs came from that period.

Trying to make a full circle, I’ll link The Air That I Breathe, to Cindy. It seems appropriate.

