Tags

,

Near Auburn, Indiana

Near Auburn, Indiana

I’m not sure when I took this picture, but it had to be more than a quarter century ago, because I hadn’t moved to Lafayette at that time. The picture is important to me because until I took it, flat farmland had never aroused a feeling of beauty in me. On the winter afternoon when I took this picture, the purple tints in the clouds along with the browns of the land and the trees amazed me with their beauty. I’m glad I had my camera with me. Ever since that day I’ve paid more attention to farmland, and I’ve better understood what a farmer sees when he is surveying his fields.

***

I saw on the news the other day that Donald Byrd had died. I may have related in an earlier post that I first became a fan when I was in college, and a friend loaned me a copy of Donald Byrd’s A New Perspective album. Up until that time I was pretty much just a Dave Brubeck Quartet fan when it came to jazz. Now I was listening to not only an expanded type of group; one that included a trumpet, vibraphone, guitar and voices. I not only loved Cristo Redentor, which is my favorite cut on the album, but also all of the other songs. Over the years I purchased a number of other Byrd albums, but I keep going back to A New Perspective. In fact I’ve worn that album out so often that I had to purchase three vinyl copies before I found it on cd. I’ve ripped my cd to MP3s in case anything happens to the cd.

***

I don’t know why, but a few days ago I started thinking about the Lake George Inn located in Steuben County. I haven’t been there since before I moved to Lafayette, met Cindy, and got married. Usually when I dated someone from the area we would go to Fort Wayne, but when I wanted to impress them, I would take the lady to the Lake George Inn. It was on the lake and had good food. The atmosphere was wonderful. Maybe I can drive Cindy up there later this year. I belive it is still in business.

