Tags

Out west, 2001

Out west, 2001

I’m sorry I can’t be more definitive as to where I took this picture. I 98% sure that it was either in Yellowstone National Park, or right outside its border. That would mean either Montana or Wyoming. I’m leaning towards Wyoming, but I’m not sure.

***

I was half-listening to a segment on Morning Joe this morning concerning wealth and happiness. I didn’t catch the name of the person who was talking, but basically he was saying that there is statistical evidence that in richer countries a greater percentage of people are happy than in poorer countries. Others on the set wanted to argue with him, using anecdotal evidence, but no research. I think that they want to believe that poor people are happy with their lot in life. That’s a nice fiction for people who have never had to worry about money.

One thing that was said struck me was that Belgium and the U.S. are exceptions to the rule, in that while they are rich nations, the citizens are less happy. I don’t know about Belgium, but I am aware that there are more people at the lower end of the wealth scale in the U.S. than there used to be. The middle class is slipping into the poorer class while the richer class is getting richer. Sounds familiar, doesn’t it? The rich get richer and the poor get poorer. In this case there are also more poor people as a percentage in the U.S.. Maybe that’s why there is still great wealth in this country, but the populace is less happy. That’s just a guess on my part.

***

When did the History Channel, now just called History, stop showing actual shows about the past, and become the ancient alien/Templars channel? I noticed that their sister channel, called H2, is pretty much the same. When I was looking for something to watch rather than the Super Bowl over the weekend, I saw that H2 had expanded its coverage to include shows about zombies and big foot. How good of them.

