Tags

I took this picture this morning

I took this picture this morning

Cindy says that I procrastinate. Well, this isn’t our front lawn. Even I would have removed this stuff and packed it away long ago. Of course I still haven’t packed away our tree; though I moved it from the living room to the basement more than a month ago. I’ll get to it soon.

***

I made chicken salad for the first time in my life a few days ago. It grew out of a small misunderstanding. Cindy said I should make chicken salad for dinner, meaning a salad with a grilled or fried chicken breast cut up on top of it. I thought she meant a more traditional chicken salad.

Since I had never made it before I went to the Internet to find a recipe. There are tons of chicken salad recipes on the net. Each one that I looked at had three things in common. 1) Each recipe called for chicken; 2) each recipe called for mayonnaise; and 3) I lacked some of the ingredients in each recipe. Since there were so many recipes to choose from, I took two distinctly different recipes and mashed them together, leaving out what I didn’t have on hand and making a couple of substitutions. Here is what came out of that process:

8 ounces of cooked, chopped chicken breast; two cups of chopped lettuce (I used 1 cup romaine and 1 cup iceberg); three stalks of celery from the heart, chopped; 1/4 of an onion, chopped; one apple, cored and chopped; 1/2 yellow bell pepper (or capsicum as the Galloping Gourmet used to call them), seeded and chopped; a handful of walnuts, chopped; one cup of mayonnaise; one teaspoons of lemon juice. Put the chopped ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl mix the mayonnaise and lemon juice, then fold into the dry ingredients. Cover with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour. The longer you let everything sit, the better the flavors blend. Cindy said it was the best chicken salad she had ever eaten, but she is occasionally given to flights of hyperbole. Still, it was nice to hear.

