Tags

, , ,

The dam at Standing Stone State Park, Tennessee, June 1983

The dam at Standing Stone State Park, Tennessee, June 1983

I came across this park in Tennessee on my way back to Indiana after visiting the Warburtons in Hendersonville, Tennessee. I used to make that trek down and back fairly often. Now it has been decades since I’ve seen them. Where does the time go, and how did we fall out of touch?

If my memory is correct, I left this park through a gate on the north side of it, and stayed on the two lane paved road heading north. When I got to the Kentucky state line the road went from paved to unpaved, and continued on that way for some miles. But it has been almost thirty years, and my memory isn’t what it used to be.

***

Taking a break from posting to Classical Gasbag has been good for me. Setting new guidelines for myself has lessened the (largely unwarranted) fear of setting at the keyboard and having no words to enter. I have notes for a few new posts, so I won’t be making it up as I go quite so often.

I also like the prospect of digging through albums and boxes of old photos to find pictures to post. I did make th mistake of taking out two albums this morning, and realizing two things: 1) I to label when and where I took all of the  photos, only a portion of them. And, 2) I gave myself too many good shots to choose from today. From now on I think I’ll take a page from an album at random, and choose the picture that I like best on that day. I just hope I’ll be able to remember where I took the picture, if not when.

***

Finally, today is Super Bowl Sunday, and since I’m not a football fan, I’ll be staying away from television broadcasts until after the game. I guess I’ll just sit and reflect on the wonderfulness that is the IU men’s basketball team. This past week has been fine. First, on Wednesday, they gave Purdue a drubbing that made all IU alumni smile, and then last night they defeated the number 1 ranked Michigan by taking an early lead and never losing it. Oh, it is good!

