Tags

, ,

How many barns are there?

How many barns are there?

I took pictures of four different barns when I went out this afternoon. This was the most interesting of the lot. I hope I haven’t used a picture of it before; I’m not in the mood to go through the library of photos I’ve used.

***

Yesterday I went on a bit about the chemistry between Olivia de Havilland and Errol Flynn on the screen. Another screen couple that was just right together was Myrna Loy and William Powell in the Thin Man movies. That on-screen partnership/marriage seemed very natural to me. I read somewhere that Johnny Depp wants to remake the original Thin Man and play Nick Charles. I just can’t see it. And I probably wouldn’t see it.

Mentioning the Thin Man movies made me think of The Thin Man television series with Peter Lawford and Phyliss Kirk as Nick and Nora Charles. I can’t say I remember much about the series that was on in the late 50’s, but I must have liked it because I remember that I watched it. I do remember that in at least one episode Nick drove a convertible sports car, and I think they were in New England…but maybe that’s a false memory.

Another movie couple that I liked watching when I was a kid was Maureen O’Sullivan and Johnny Weismuller in the Tarzan movies. For me, Weismuller will always be the best Tarzan, and O’Sullivan will be the best Jane.

There are probably other actors who seem right together, but none are coming to mind right now. Do you have any favorites? 

***

One last thing. Does it seem to you that early morning basic cable television is filled with ads for computer dating services? Don’t lonely singles watch prime time television, or is it that the companies that are advertising can’t afford to buy time in the evening? I’m just wondering.

