Tags

, ,

The highlight of my day

The highlight of my day

The game between IU and Michigan State today was an exciting one. While I enjoy watching exciting games, I’m ready for IU to run away from a team and to keep the lead. Though at the rate they are going in the Big Ten, I will age five years before the end of the season.

***

I ended yesterday’s post early so that I could watch a couple of movies, and I’m glad that I did. First I watched Captain Blood with Errol Flynn and Olivia de Havilland. It is one of my favorite movies and I watch it about once every year. There is something about the black and white movies from the thirties and early forties that I find wonderful. Maybe it is because I saw so many of them on television when I was growing up, maybe it is because so many of them are wonderful. Directors could get away with things in black and white that wouldn’t go over as well in color. For instance, some of the stylized sets that are in Captain Blood, wouldn’t look as good in color. The lighting of the sets was also extraordinary.

Before I leave Captain Blood I have to say how much I love the interaction of Flynn and de Havilland. They seem like the perfect match, not only in this film, but also The Adventures of Robin Hood and Dodge City. Those aren’t the only films they were in together, but they are the ones I remember best.

After watching Captain Blood I watch The Cincinnati Kid starring Steve McQueen. That movie was released the year I graduated from high school and started college. I know that I saw it in the theater, but I don’t remember which theater or who I went with. I probably only had eyes for Tuesday Weld and Ann Margaret that first time. I’ve seen the movie a couple of times since then, but it has obviously been a long time since my last viewing because I surprised last night at some of the things that I had forgotten. One thing that I had forgotten was that Ray Charles sang the title song. I had also forgotten that Lalo Schifrin had written the music. Slade, played by Rip Torn, was a cast member who I had forgotten (he looks so young!). One thing I did remember, and I watched for it, was when McQueen’s character throws Karl Malden’s character back against a door and the whole prop wall shook like it was about to collapse. It’s strange, the things you remember.

