Tags

Waiting for snow

Waiting for snow

It has been a hard year for white paint on buildings, and it seems to be getting worse every day. This barn looked fine at the beginning of spring, but look at it now. Most of the white outbuildings in the area look like this.

***

You’re probably getting tired of my posts about the music I’m listening to, but to me, it’s about the most interesting thing going on. Today’s strange combination is Johnny Cash, followed by Duke Pearson, followed by Iron Butterfly, and then Captain Beyond. I was in the mood for At Folsom Prison this morning, so that’s what I listened to while looking for today’s photo. I don’t listen to the album too often because it isn’t one of my favorites, but it does have some good songs that I crave hearing once in a while.

When I got home I turned on the stereo in the living room. Duke Pearson’s Bag’s Groove was queued up, and it was a nice change of pace from Johnny, Say You’re Mine is on that album, and it is one of my favorite ballads. I’m surprised I haven’t heard it covered by anyone other than Donald Byrd. At least I can’t remember it being covered by anyone else.

The next cd (the player holds five) was Metamorphosis by Iron Butterfly. I like this album a lot, though I guess I’m in a minority. I bought it on vinyl when I was in the army in Germany, and then found a cd version three or four years ago. I like the direction Doug Ingle tried to take the group. I particularly was drawn to Slower Than Guns, and Butterfly Bleu. I remember seeing them perform Butterfly Bleu on television, but I couldn’t tell you the name of the show. Mike Pinera and Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt became part of the band for this album. Mike Pinera had been a member of Blues Image, who recorded Ride Captain Ride, which was later covered by Blood, Sweat & Tears (a version that I really like). Larry Reinhardt and Lee Dorman, Iron Butterfly’s bass player formed Captain Beyond. Thinking about that, I decided to put on a Captain Beyond cd.

It has been a good day musically. I’ll try to get out of the house more tomorrow and find something more interesting to go on about.

