Stately

Stately

A couple of 100+ year-old oak trees would add to the ambience of the setting, but that doesn’t stop me from admiring this home. As you can see, it snowed a bit this morning. I don’t think you can tell from this picture, but there was a light snow occurring when I took this photo. I had just taken Cindy home from her oral surgery, and had filled the bird feeders, then hustled out to run a couple of errands and take a picture or three while it was still snowing.

***

I had taken a book with me to read while Cindy’s mouth was being worked on, but I was unable to read much of it. There were two women who were also waiting on loved ones, but they didn’t bring books, nor were they inclined to look at the pictures in the magazines. Instead, they talked…loudly. I was not trying to pay attention to them, I wanted to read, but things they said would draw my attention from my book.

“It’s warmer in the lady’s room than in this office.” “I’m not used to getting up at 5 a.m., I live in a different time zone.” “We wanted to get a house on the lake but we couldn’t. We did get a house with a stream on the property.” “My son wanted to move to Indianapolis when he got a job there, but I told him he could live with us and commute.” “I didn’t have to work today because of the holiday; I asked my sister why she didn’t schedule her appointment for a day when I worked.”

Eventually one of the people, the one who only had three wisdom teeth removed, was finished and they left. The remaining woman closed her eyes while waiting for her sister, and I resumed reading. That lasted for about a page when a man walked in the office and started talking to the waiting sister. It was the spouse, and he was there to wait as well…and to talk…loudly. I gave up and closed my book and my eyes.

Oh. Cindy came through things fine. Thanks for wondering.

