Tags

, ,

Nothing happening at the fair grounds today

Nothing happening at the fair grounds today

I took this picture as I was leaving the ophthalmologist’s office this morning. I think it turned out OK considering that both of my eyes were dilated. It was warm enough, and sunny enough that it felt like an early spring day this morning. I still want a big snowstorm, but after that I might be ready for spring. Today was nice.

***

I am an introvert, and I don’t interact well with strangers. I’ve gotten better over the years, but it still seems unnatural to me. I am amazed at people who will start a conversation with a total stranger. This morning while I was waiting to see the doctor I saw a man walk up to another man who was seated on the other side of the room. The first man looked at the seated man for about a minute, and blurted out, “Did you hear what happened this morning?” The seated man looked startled, looked around as if to confirm he was being addressed, and then gathered his wits and responded, “Yes, I did.” That was quick thinking on his part, it cut off the first man’s attempt to tell a long story. I would not have thought of that, and would have been trapped listening to the first man. As it was, the first man sat down and started talking at the woman seated to his left. She never had a chance.

***

One segment of Morning Joe was really entertaining this morning. The guest was Chris Matthews who, on his own show, Hard Ball, seldom lets his guests get a word in edgewise. If they are allowed to speak, and he doesn’t agree with them, he badgers them until the segment is over. Anyway, here was Joe Scarborough, master of bombast, and Chris Matthews who has never been wrong about anything, both trying to keep the other out of the conversation. None of the other people on the set even tried to get a word in. It was like two monologists trying to show superiority. Morning television can be fun.

