Tags

, , ,

Where do you lead, little lane?

Where do you lead, little lane?

If there wasn’t a (closed) gate, I might still be driving around down there to see what might be photographical (That’s a word, right? I believe the lyric of My Funny Valentine has the word non-photographical.) Alas, the road is closed off to the public.

***

I spent part of the afternoon watching Big 10 basketball. First there was the Michigan State/Purdue game, and then I saw the first half of the Ohio State/Illinois game. I haven’t heard yet who won that game, but I have to say that I was impressed with Illinois. I’m not looking forward to when IU plays in Illinois.

You may think that photographical is not a word, but I’m pretty sure that the color commentator on the OU/Illinois game made up a word when he said that a player made a strategical pass. I’ll cut him some slack for trying to sound intelligent. He didn’t go to IU, he went to Ohio State.

The other thing from the game that stands out in my mind is that one of the Ohio State players was wearing a basketball sleeve, also known as a shooter sleeve. The odd thing was that he was wearing it on his right arm, but he was shooting left-handed. I know that there is no rule that says you have to wear your shooting sleeve on you non-shooting arm, but why wear it at all…unless you are making a fashion statement.

***

I have to mention one of Flo’s (Cindy’s mother) idiosyncrasies. She has a tendency to offer up a malapropism when least expected, and when it is pointed out to her, she disregards your comment and repeats it. When she asks Cindy to buy her something to help control an itch, instead of asking for “Gold Bond,” she asks for “Ward Bond.” Ward could probably help with an itch that she has, except that he died in 1960. No itch relief there.

