Tags

It is a new year

It is a new year

I took a number of post-worthy photos this morning, but this one seemed to capture my mood the best. I find it uplifting.

***

Since I’m not a football fan, today is a good day for watching classic movies. I’ve already watched one of my favorites, The Mark of Zorro, with Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell and Basil Rathbone. I have been watching this movie since I was in elementary school, and I never get tired of seeing it. The duel scene with Tyrone Power and Basil Rathbone is one of the best ever filmed in my opinion. The only one that I might like better, note that I said ‘might,’ is the duel between Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone in The Adventures of Robin Hood. That might be a good film to watch this afternoon or tonight.

I am already planning on watching Raiders of the Lost Ark next. While I always identify watching The Mark of Zorro, and The Adventures of Robin Hood in the winter, Raiders of the Lost Ark is a movie I can watch any time of year. It hits all of the right notes in summer as well as winter. It is a great movie.

After that, I want to watch a Bogart movie. I’m not sure if it will be The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, or Casablanca. They all have points in their favor. I’m leaning towards The Big Sleep if for no other reason, than to see Dorothy Malone in the book shop scene. Then again, Peter Lorre and Sydney Greenstreet make The Maltese Falcon, well worth watching. I guess that means I’m looking for lighter fare than Casablanca.

Of course Cindy might have other ideas about what to watch. She might want to put in a DVD of one of the Midsomer Murders. That wouldn’t be all bad, just a little more contemporary than anything I have in mind.

