Tags

IMAG0241b

On the drive home from the funeral

I admit that this is not a new picture that I took today. I took this through the car window as we were going through Indianapolis yesterday evening. I’m sure you recognize the skyline. I took a few photos this morning on my way back from the bank, but this picture seemed more appropriate for context to most for this post.

***

Marilyn wanted to go to Chris’ funeral with us yesterday, so we took her newer car, but Cindy drove. I’ve been with Cindy long enough to know that in times when she feels helpless to influence events she wants to exert control, and the easiest way to do that is to drive. While driving she has some control over her destiny. Also when she drives she wants to listen to a book on tape or cd. This offers another form of control. I put on my headphones and listen to my MP3 player so that I don’t sleep through the entire drive. It is probably also a form of rebellion on my part. “You think you’re in control, sister? Look at me keeping time to the music and mouthing the lyrics.”

As I’ve pointed out in previous posts, I always have the MP3 player set on Random Shuffle. This can cause some interesting listening. On the way to Greenfield I heard Just Friends by Johnny Mathis, and a few songs later was the same song sung by Bobby Darin. I had forgotten that I had both versions on the player. I think that with about 700 songs I’m allowed to forget a few of them. Anyway, the versions are similar, and I like both of them. The Darin version has a more upbeat tempo, but I’m partial to the Mathis version when I compare the two. I’m pretty sure I favor the Mathis version because it was the first I can remember hearing. It was on an album my dad bought as a member of the Columbia House Record Club. I’ve bought the cd version of the album because I like it so much.

The background music at the visitation was composed mostly of standards and show tunes. I was surprised, however when one of the songs turned out to be a Miles Davis version of My Funny Valentine. I was surprised to hear Miles Davis among so much pop music. While I liked most of the music, the Davis tune was a happy surprise.

On the drive home there was another musical surprise caused by the Random Shuffle. Around the time I took the picture in this post I heard The Seekers singing I’ll Never Find Another You with the words:

There is always someone
For each of us, they say.
And you’ll be my someone
Forever and a day.
I could search the whole world over
Until my life is through
But I know I’ll never find another you.

This was followed immediately by Karla Bonoff singing I Can’t Hold On. It seems like a bad response to the first song when she sings:

Oh baby, this time it’s a good-bye
And you can be sure that I won’t cry
Our love is just a faded story
I’m walking down the road
And you’ve just got to let me go

Those are my music stories for today.

