Tags

,

We need more snow

We need more snow

I couldn’t spend much time looking for a photo today. I took this picture around 8 a.m. and we are expecting company at the house at 11. If I don’t get home to help prepare, Cindy will be upset…not that she expects much from me.

Today is our (now) annual Christmas brunch for family…and close friends…and aquaintances. I’m guessing that next year it will expand again and include everyone who wanted to go to a Bingo game but couldn’t because even the Eagles lodge  closes down for the holiday.

We exchange gifts with the kids and grandkids and someone whose name we have drawn. So, some loot was raked in. Once again I got a lot of IU stuff. Off the top of my head I know there was a red and white pinstriped button down shirt with the IU logo embroidered on the pocket, an IU christmas tree ornament, an IU snow globe, an IU wall calendar, an IU basketball T-shirt, and maybe something else. I getting old and memory isn’t what it used to be. There were other things as well, such as the framed Marilyn Monroe tribute (it’s a long story), a coffee mug that proclaims that I’m the World’s Greatest Grandpa, another mug filled with hard candy, a pair of socks for diabetics, three movies that I don’t remember seeing advertised (but I do recognize the names of the actors), a gift card for Amazon, and maybe other things that have slipped my mind (old with bad memory, remember?).

When people started to leave, I drove Flo back to the nursing home, and her friend Peg went along to help get Flo (or Grandma, as Peg calls her) back to her room. Evidently Peg had promised to give Flo some cookies that Peg didn’t want. Flo, a diabetic, told me that the cookies were brown, so she could eat them. Peg said that she had forgotten to bring them. Flow said, “That means I won’t get the cookies,” and almost sobbed. I could swear I saw a tear forming in her eye. Peg reassured Flo that she would get the cookies to her before Christmas. They went on talking to each other while I concentrated on driving.

When we got to the nursing home, Peg got out of the car to fetch Flo’s wheelchair while I collected Flo’s loot from the back seat. Peg couldn’t find Flo’s personal wheelchair, so brought one of the nursing home’s out to the car. Peg wrestled Flo into the chair and started to push her to the door when Flo said, “Put down the pedals.” I knew she was talking about the foot rests, but when I looked down I saw that this chair had none. I told her that it wasn’t her chair and that there were no pedals. We got to the door and I pushed the door opener. The doors opened and Peg said, “Wait, I forgot Grandma’s water cup,” and walked back to the car. She came back to the chair and started pushing just as the door started to close. I pushed the door opener again and Flo said, “You have to empty this cup,” and handed it back to Peg. Peg took it, emptied the cup, and came back to the chair just as the door was closing again. For the third time I used my elbow to push the door opener, and this time we got through the door. When we got to the room I was able to empty my hands of Flo’s loot. She said to me, “Put my oxygen tank on the back of the chair.” I looked and saw that there was no place to put the bottle. I pointed out to Flo that it wasn’t her chair, and there was no place to put the bottle.

Flo said that she would have the nurse put her name on the clothes, sheets, and bedspread that she had been given. Peg, meanwhile, was taking everything out of the bags, admiring it, and wanted to either put Flo’s name on everything, or to hang the clothes up. It was like she couldn’t make up her mind. Rather than stay there all afternoon while she decided, I said that the nurse would mark everything and put it away. Flo agreed (Peg was blocking her view of the television screen).

On the drive back to Lafayette, Peg complained to me about people who wouldn’t stop talking. I don’t think there was a period longer than 30 seconds when she was silent on that trip. Normally in a situation like that I would simply nod and occasionally grunt, but Peg asks questions and expects a reply longer than one or two words. I pretty much had to pay attention to what she was saying.

I’ll say one thing about Flo and Peg. When they are around I usually have something to post in this blog.

