Tags

,

A sign of the times

A sign of the times

It’s a sad day. Cindy’s  step-mother, Chris passed away a few hours ago. I’m glad that we were able to go to Minnesota and see her last week. I’ll try to get back to this post tomorrow to add some comments.

***

I’ll only comment on the picture to say it was the only one I took yesterday. There were no geese in the road, so I snapped a picture of the sign. Winters have become so mild around here that the geese no longer fly south, they just hang around town, disrupting traffic when they want to cross the road. Now, back to Chris.

***

I met Chris when Cindy and I were dating. We decided at that time that we liked each other. I wish I could say the same about Cindy’s father, but I was not the kind of person that around whom Roy felt comfortable. Chris welcomed me into their family, and for that I have always been grateful.

The one word that everyone uses to describe Chris is “classy.” I agree, she was classy, but I would also add the words “warm, friendly, outgoing, and caring.” “Classy” just doesn’t show her depth. You can’t sum up a person like Chris with one word.

Chris and I didn’t always see eye to eye. The biggest example of that was the first year Cindy and I met her family on vacation in Michigan. Chris had practically planned for every minute of the trip. It’s hard for people to believe, but I am a little more spontaneous than that…or maybe I just don’t like people exerting that much control. Anyway, I let her know how I felt, and the next time we met them on vacation, Chris understood that I had to exert a little control myself, and gave me a list of things I could do on my own. That was sweet of her, though I’m not sure she understood the concept of letting go completely.

I’m not one of her children, just a son-in-law, but I will miss her. She enjoyed  her children, her husbands and companions, her friends, her life. We enjoyed being part of her life.

