Same view, sunnier day

Same view, sunnier day

The day at the hospital began better than the previous day had ended. Chris once again recognized us, though she seemed weaker than she had been on the first day. After a while she slipped back into the delirium, but she also slept a bit. It seemed to be the first real, peaceful sleep she had been able to get in four or five days. I was content to watch her sleep even if it meant we couldn’t talk to her.

I don’t know if the day being sunny, rather than overcast and snowy, helped with our attitude, but I know I wasn’t as upset as I had been the previous day.

The nurse aid in Chris’ room today (By the way, there was always a nurse or nurse aid in the room, all day and all night) spoke with an accent I couldn’t identify. Cindy asked me if it was German, but I was pretty sure it wasn’t. My first inclination was to say that the accent was Swedish, or Norwegian, or possibly Danish since we were in Minnesota, but it didn’t really sound like any of those. So, Cindy asked the aid how she pronounced her name, and what the origin was. I don’t remember her name, by the way, but she told us she was from Bosnia. Cindy asked her if she like d it here better than in Bosnia. We were told that there was no difference.

Now, you may argue with me, but it seems to me that a country where ethnic cleansing was taking place less than thirty years ago, and the aid was certainly older than thirty, should seem different from the USA. We haven’t practiced ethnic cleansing since we moved Native Americans off of their lands. Anyway, when she told us their was no difference, I decided, without a shred of evidence, that she was probably hiding from the war crimes trials. Perhaps she saw something in my eyes, because an hour or so later she brought Cindy and I a tray of food to share. That was nice of her, and I guess it gained back some trust.

At this point I want to voice a complaint about the cafeteria at St. Mary’s Hospital…besides the food prices. When we ate there I pretty much stuck to soup, salad and a sandwich. On this morning I bought a muffin to eat. The sandwiches and the muffin were made elsewhere and packaged. Each package listed the calories, the amount of sodium, fat grams and cholesterol, but not the sugar grams. While all of the other things are important, don’t you think that in a country where diabetes is becoming an epidemic, the hospital would list the sugar grams? I sit here amazed.

We didn’t stay at the hospital as late as we had the previous days, because we were both close to exhaustion. Sitting in a hospital is not an easy task. The doctor planned on giving Chris medication to help her sleep, and we didn’t want to be around to possible disturb her, so we left after giving Cindy’s phone number to the nurse. It also gave us a chance to eat somewhere other than the hospital cafeteria.

