IMAG0210 b

For your health care

I had to take a picture of this vending machine, because I had never seen one like this in such pristine condition. Usually you find them with graffiti scratched into the paint. I was amazed when I saw it in the truck stop men’s room. I didn’t ask Cindy if there was a similar device in the ladies’ room.

***

We are back from Minnesota, and I shall be spending the next few days trying to get caught up on the blog posts. I managed to take at least one photo each day we were gone, and I have made numerous notes that I intend to turn into words for you to read. I just hope I can remember what the notes mean.

My memories of the days we were in Minnesota are already starting to run together in my mind, so I hope I can get them down in a sequentially correct order. I should have written details in my notebook and dated them, but I settled for putting quick notes on my cell phone, often without wearing my glasses. That is never a wise decision.

***

Cindy had to stop at her office when we were starting out on our journey. Since she was in a rush, she parked the car and hung a temporary permit (one that had expired) on the rearview mirror, in a handicapped parking area near the front of the building that houses her office. I told her that I would stay in the car and try to look disabled in case a police officer wandered by. She thought that was a capital idea on my part. She has no shame.

***

Have I mentioned that Cindy has control issues? We used her car because it is in better shape than mine. When we use her car, she insists on driving so that she can listen to books-on-tape, or books-on-cd. I listen to music when I drive, because hearing someone read puts me to sleep. Consequently, rather than let me drive part of the way, and listen to music, Cindy drove the entire way to Rochester, Minnesota. I listened to music on my MP3 player while she listened to a book. After listening to one book from start to finish, she allowed me to put in a music cd. We listened to music together for the last two hours of the drive.

***

When we got to Rochester, we went directly to St. Mary’s Hospital on the Mayo Clinic campus. Cindy’s step-mother, Chris, is there in the ICU. When we got to the room, she was happy to see us, and we talked for a while. David, one of Cindy’s step-brothers, was also there but had to leave in order to catch a flight back to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. He caught us up on the situation before he left. We left some time later to get a motel room, and to let Chris rest.

