Tags

, ,

Probably a fun place in a blizzard

Believe it or not, I used the zoom function on the camera, because without it, I would find this photo too sad. I also lightened the shot a bit so that the outbuildings and vehicles didn’t blend into the background. Even with that, I can’t look at this picture and not think about Bob Dylan’s North Country Blues. The Ballad Of Hollis Brown. I guess I was in that kind of mood when I took the picture this morning.

***

Early this afternoon I watched an old movie titled The Mysterious Mr. Wong. It starred Bela Lugosi as Mr. Wong, a Chinese criminal. I loved hearing Mr. Wong speak English with a slow, deliberate Hungarian accent. It wasn’t a good movie, and like many movies from that era, it was full of racial stereotypes. I doubt that I’ll ever watch the movie again.

When I finish with this post I plan to watch Godfather II. I haven’t seen it in a number of years and I’m looking forward to watching it. After that, I’m not sure. I’ll either watch something light, or a British mystery. I’ll surprise myself.

***

When I was driving around, looking for a photo to take, I found myself looking a political yard signs. Many of them were for Richard Mourdock, who is running for Senator. Most yard signs simply state the candidate’s name, what the person is running for, and a phrase attesting to why they should get your vote. very few signs mention party affiliation these days. This year I’ve seen a yard sign unlike any I can ever recall seeing before; it just says to vote against a candidate, the Democrat who is running for the same seat Richard Mourdock wants. I’m not sure what to think about those signs. The more I think about those signs, the more disturbing I find them. I’ll certainly be glad when the election is over.

