Tags

Don’t know the purpose of this for the farmer

I don’t know the purpose of this machine…or for that matter what it is called. Maybe if I were mechanically inclined…but I’m not.

***

I came close to having a panic attack this morning. When I returned from the store this morning I saw that Mr. Politician was no longer hanging on the porch. Where was he? he has been in the family for around fifteen years. I knew right away that the wind gusts last night had been too much for the haphazard way I had secured him. Turns out he wasn’t secured at all. I forced myself to calm down and to put away the groceries I had bought for tonight’s stew. Then I went out to search for Mr. Politician. I checked on the north side of the house because that is where most things that blow into our yard end up, but my little buddy wasn’t there. I was about to head on down the street to the north, but then remembered that when Cindy’s green plastic weed bucket blew away it had gone down the street to the south. First I check the yard south of the porch, and there he was. He was kind of dusty, but intact. He is back, hanging on the porch, but this time I feel he is truly secured.

***

Yesterday I related how much I loved my transistor radio when I was a young teen. Moving on from there I can remember the first major piece of stereo equipment that I owned. When I was a senior in high school my parents bought me an Ampex reel-to-reel tape deck for Christmas. That was the best present I had received up until Cindy bought me the USB turntable I use to convert vinyl records to MP3s a couple of years ago. I was in heaven. Now I could start making long-playing tapes for myself, my own mix tapes. The only problem was that I had nothing to record the music from except using my transistor radio and a microphone that came with the deck. It was not elegant, and it picked up all of the background noise, but it let me start putting together my own programs. It didn’t take too long to realize that if I took wire with an RCA jack on one end, and an alligator clip on the other end, I could attach the alligator clip to the speaker on my radio and get reasonable good sound reproduction. Of course I was only able to record on one channel, but heck, I was used to listening in mono.

That was my first reel-to-reel tape deck and it served me well for a number of years. So well, in fact, that I wore out the recording heads during my college years and had to have them replaced. Over the years I wore out three reel-to-reel tape decks. I would have one now if I could find one at a reasonable price. I never had better sound quality.

Tomorrow I may tell you about my first stereo record player.

