Tags

,

Another fine house

If it weren’t for having to cut grass on that incline (or is it a decline?) this is another house in which I wouldn’t mind residing. I like this hilly neighborhood.

***

Here is another grumpy old man statement in the guise of a question: Why are we now saying vaca instead of vacation and refi instead of refinance? There must be a reason people have dropped perfectly good syllables. It isn’t as if they were hard to pronounce, or they take a lot longer to speak. The only thing that I can think of is that people don’t want to spell them out in text messages, or they don’t have room in their tweets. Have we really come to that? If so, society is changing faster than I would wish. I should be happy that the language is changing, it keeps it alive. When was the last time you heard of a change in Latin? I’m just not sure I like all of the changes.

***

I haven’t been able to spend a lot of quality time around the house today. First I went to have some blood drawn for lab tests before my Doctor’s appointment on Friday. While waiting with my arm held out resolutely I was informed that I would also be peeing in a cup. I don’t like surprises like that. Luckily, as I grow older my kidneys aren’t nearly as bashful as they used to be. I can pretty much pee on demand…so I did.

After leaving my liquid tributes I went to the mall to look for another new sports coat. I wanted a dark one because the last one I bought was tan. I found just what I wanted on sale, at half price. That was good. That was so good that I walked down to another store and bought a dress shirt on sale. It has been quite some time since I had a button down blue pinstripe shirt. I am pleased.

Then I drove to Gordon’s and picked up a couple of bags of chis=cken wings for Cindy. While there I also bought her a jar of caramel flavored candy corn. I wish I could eat it. I like it when it is mixed with cashews. Those were the days.

I went home to put the wings in the freezer, and to eat lunch. After that I drove to the dentist’s office for a not so quick check. It wasn’t quick because the dentist was having a bad day. While injecting anaesthetic in a woman’s mouth, he hit a blood vessel. Her face puffed up, and she couldn’t open her eye. That set his schedule back. He then checked me out, decided he is almost finished with my lower, and then set there talking to me while I fidgeted, wanting to leave. I’ve been told I’m a good listener, and I lived up to it today. I wasn’t sure I would get out of the chair before they closed for the day. But I did.

Then I went looking for a photo, and found the house pictured above. from there, home. Now it’s almost time to find some dinner. I may order out tonight while Cindy plays BINGO.

