Tags

, ,

A peaceful Sunday morning

It seems that I’m destined to listen to folk music from the 60’s today. It started around 5 a.m. when I woke up and felt wide awake. I put in a DVD from James Burke’s Connections series, Episode 8 to be precise. The story he was telling mentioned steamboats in the U.S. That brought to mind the New Christy Minstrels’ album Today with the song This Old Riverboat.

Thinking about the Christy’s made me think of the television show Hootenanny that I used to watch regularly. One of the groups on that show was The Journeymen. The most famous member of that group was John Phillips who was a founder of The Mamas & The Papas. One of my favorite songs by The Ms & Ps is Creeque Alley which mention McGuinn & McGuire. Jim “Roger” McGuinn had accompanied The Chad Mitchell Trio before founding the Byrds. Barry McGuire was a member of The New Christy Minstrels and he also had a solo career (remember Eve Of Destruction?) He had also recorded with Barry Kane who also joined The New Christy Minstrels.

Well, I watched the rest of the episode; I was watching Connections, remember? By that time I was ready to go back to sleep, so I did.

I woke up again about an hour later. Cindy was still asleep so I decided to watch a movie. I put on The Killer Elite which is a sam Peckinpah movie from the mid-seventies. It is not a great movie. It is actually a pretty good movie until it gets to the last big fight scene, and at that point it goes way downhill…way, way downhill. You might be asking how this fits in with the 60’s folk music. Well, one of the small parts is played by Tom Clancy of the Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem. They were the first Irish folk group that I ever listened to.

I remember reading that he and his brothers, as well as Tommy Makem, had all come to the states to pursue their acting careers. They sang to make money while looking for acting work. I didn’t remember seeing them act in anything before today, however, when I googled Tom Clancy this morning I found he had acted in at least 30 movies and TV shows. The things you learn.

Anyway, that’s why I’m listening to NCM right now. It was destined.

