Tags

Behold, The Clyde Rock

This is the new home for the Clyde Rock. I had thought about spinning a yarn about how this rock was found in the River Clyde in Scotland, with the name etched into it. How the rock was a Scottish national treasure and had been smuggled out of country by The Zearing Bunch and brought to the U.S. That the rock was purported to have magical powers. But then I decided it wasn’t worth the mental effort, and besides, no one would believe it. Oh well. Clyde is the first name of mt mother-in-law Flo’s last husband. She had this rock, but had to leave it behind when she moved into the nursing home. Cindy wanted the rock, so now it sits in front of our porch.

***

Did you know that this is National Banned Book Week? When was the last time you read a book that had been banned? It has been a few years since I have, but mores have changed over the years, and many books that are published to great acclaim would have been banned in past decades. Now you can go just about anywhere and find copies of books like Fanny Hill, Lady Chatterley’s Lover, or The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Well, you may not find them in a high school library, but a good book store should have them.

***

I saw on TV yesterday that there could be a worldwide shortage of disposable diapers due to an explosion in a plant in Japan. Let us hope that there is not also a shortage of safety pins in case parents are forced to go retro.

***

Tonight is the first of the Presidential Debates. I’ve been paying more attention to the campaigns this year, probably because I’m retired and not fretting about work. Still, with all the attention I’ve put into it, I don’t know which candidate is getting th important Gary Busey endorsement. Instinct tells me that he will go along with The Donald’s choice, but…

***

I thought about adding more to my complaint about the way I felt I was treated at the eye institute yesterday, but I have calmed down. They sent me an email today with a link so that I can access my file.  I may look to see if they wrote anything libelous. I’m guessing that they didn’t.

