Tags

, ,

Rusty but usable

It’s another beautiful day for a ride in the country. Today, however, I waited until afternoon before I went out. We are at a time of the year when, if I go out in the morning, the sun is in my eyes too much for me to really see a good picture. It shouldn’t be too long before the sun  is in  a better position for a morning shot.

***

Cindy and I were watching Covert Affairs Tuesday night and there was a sequence when the leading lady was being followed through the streets of Moscow. It made me think of the series of Quiller books by Adam Hall, pseudonym of Elleston Trevor. The tv sequence was nowhere near as interesting as you find in the books, but since I was reminded, I may start rereading the books. I have most of them in paperback. I was a huge fan of spy novels since I read my first James Bond novel in the 60’s. My favorite authors, over the years, have been Adam Hall, John le Carré, and Len Deighton, not necessarily in that order. The order changes depending on whom I’m reading at the time. I have to say that none of the current authors whom I’ve read interest me like those three authors have over the years. I was sorry when Mr. Trevor died, because I loved the Quiller books.

***

I woke up around 2 a.m. this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep, so I put in one of my Connections DVDs from the first series. I believe I’ve mentioned in an earlier post that the series is still relevant…or maybe I said that about The Ascent of Man, but it is true of both. I’ve often thought that if I could get Mason, my grandson, to watch one of the episodes he would enjoy it. Then, this morning, I realized that he might not appreciate it so much if he looked at the way James Burke, the creator of the series, is dressed back in 1978, and sees the cutting edge technology of those days, he would probably brush it off as a waste of time. The episode I watched this morning started with a close-up shot of an IBM punch card. When was the last time you saw one of those? The way Burke talked about computers you were instantly aware that the personal computer was not yet well-known. Maybe if he could get past the surface, Mason would like watching the DVDs, but that is a big if.

