Tags

, ,

It’s one of those lazy mornings

I enjoyed my ride in the country so much this morning that I didn’t want to come home. It was also a good morning for taking pictures, and I took my share. There were places where the light and shadow made spectacular effects, but trying to capture them with my digital camera was a lost cause. It is on days like this that I really miss Kodachrome.

***

I’ve been switching the music around quite a bit today. When I climbed into the car this morning to drive Cindy to work, I put in one of Linda Ronstadt’s albums with Nelson Riddle. Those were three great albums. After I dropped Cindy off I switched to Led Zeppelin because that is who I really wanted to listen to. Cindy’s car was ready to pick up from the shop so I went back to her office to pick her up and take her to get it. That’s when I switched the cd to the early Beatles. When I got home I decided that one of Ian Tyson’s cowboy music albums was in order. I’m not sure what this afternoon will bring…maybe I’ll put in a Diana Krall DVD to watch.

***

Last night I cooked one of my old standard casseroles, Sausage and Rice. I’ve had this recipe for so many years that I’m not sure where I originally got it, but it may have been from Debbie Warburton. Like any good simple recipe it can be changed without destroying the underlying goodness. I’ve made many changes to it over the years. Here is the version I made last night:

3 cups cooked rice. 1 lb. bulk sausage, browned and drained. 1/4 onion, finely chopped. 1 can condensed tomato soup. 1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese. 1/2 tsp. powdered beef bullion. 1/2 tsp. Cajun seasoning. Dash persillade.

When cooking the rice, add the bullion powder, Cajun seasoning, and persillade to the water. When rice is cooked and a sausage is browned and drained, arrange in alternating layers in a greased casserole. Top with onion. Pour soup over. Sprinkle top with cheese. Cover and put in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

This is the first time I added the Cajun seasoning and persillade. They gave a kick to final product that Cindy and I both enjoyed.

