Tags

,

I love this house, at least the exterior

This is a beautiful house, and like many in Lafayette it is built on a hill. In this respect Lafayette is similar to Eureka Springs, Arkansas, and probably m,any other cities. There is something about these old houses that appeals to me. Part of it is the craftsmanship that went into the building of the house. Another part is the fact that they have been kept in good condition, or have been restored so that they are still beautiful.

***

Graham Nash was on Morning Joe today. He was plugging the new concert DVD of Crosby, Stills and Nash. I probably won’t buy it, but it started making me think about the first time I heard the group. That was on the Woodstock album. I fell in love with their music when I first heard it.I had listened to The Hollies, Buffalo Springfield, and The Byrds and had liked them, but this was music that was far and above those groups. Each of the group members is a talented artist, but the sum is greater than the parts. To my mind, CS&N was a true super-group. The addition of Neil Young just added to that greatness. I’ve heard younger people make fun of CS&N, but they are still selling tickets. So, I watched Graham Nash this morning, and then went online and downloaded Stephen Stills’ Manasas. 

***

Marlon is so brave. We were in the back yard yesterday when a fellow walked past the back fence, walking his Great Dane. Marlon walked away from the fence, and when he had moved a good distance from it, he started barking at the other dog. As the dog moved away from the fence, ignoring Marlon’s barking, Marlon walked back toward the fence and continued to bark. So brave! 

***

You’ve probably noticed this before, but in case you haven’t, let me mention shaving in the movies and on television. You have seen the scene where a male character is lathered up and shaving. He is interrupted by something important half way through the shave. He takes a towel and wipes off the remainder of the lather. There are no whiskers under the lather. I wish I could do that.

