Day 175

Another view of the garden

Back on Day 20 I posted a photo of this garden from a similar angle. There are a couple of big differences. First, stuff has been planted and is growing. Second, The trees in the background are blocking the view of the Tate & Lyle plant. Those are both good things.

***

In case you didn’t already know, Otto Titzling , the purported inventor of a ladies undergarment, is a fictional character. So to is his nemesis, Philippe de Brassiere; not to mention Otto’s assistant Hans Delving. That whole story is just too delicious to be true. If you haven’t heard the story, go to http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/business/a/otto_titzling.htm and get caught up.

Why am I bringing up this urban legend? Well, in today’s newspaper there is a story about the real origin of the brassiere, or at least as much as can be deduced by historians and archeologists. Until recently it was thought that the brassiere was invented shortly before or after the turn of the 20th century, about 100 years ago, give or take a decade or two. However, bras dating from the 15th century were discovered in an Austrian castle in 2008. I took this news with a grain of salt, especially when I read that they were discovered by an archeologist named Beatrix Nutz. I know…Titzling, de Brassiere, Delving, and now Nutz. If it were April 1st I wouldn’t believe it, even though it is an AP story. The things you learn while reading the Sunday newspaper.

***

This morning’s music was the Kenny Burrell album Blue Lights. I only listened to the first of the two albums. Tomorrow will find me listening to the second album. I bought the first of the Blue Note albums in vinyl around my senior year in college. At the time I didn’t know there was a second album with the same cover art and same liner notes. The only difference in the packaging was the song list. I found the second volume in a store a year or so after I got out of the army. I don’t know why I took a close enough look at the album to see the different song line-up, but thankfully I did. A couple of years ago I came across the album (both volumes) in cd format. It was on sale, so I snatched it up.

I mentioned the cover art. It is a sketch of a woman, sans bra and other clothing except shoes, curled on the floor. The artist was Andy Warhol.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.