Tags

, ,

No traffic for a few minutes

It has taken awhile, but I’m finally ready to work on my post for today. I went out this morning to get this photo, but I haven’t had time to work on the words.

I spent a few hours waiting for Macey and Mason to come here. Macey came to earn some money cleaning the house, and Mason came to work in the yard with me and then to spend the night. We were told that they would be here around 10:30, but I didn’t believe it, because punctuality is little more than a concept when it comes to Trina and her family. Still, when 11:55 rolled around and they had neither arrived nor called, I sent a snarky text to Cindy (she was with her mother) concerning the lack of development. A few minutes later Cindy forwarded to me a text from Macey that she had a bad headache and had gone to bed for a while. She and Mason would be here around 12:30. Now I thought Cindy had forwarded my snarky text Macey and that it had prompted a reply, but I was wrong; Macey had independently sent the update text to Cindy. They got here between 1 and 1:15 p.m.

***

There are days when I see almost no private vehicles other than SUVs, minivans, and pickup trucks. Sometimes there are so many pickups that I think that people who live in cities should not be allowed to own a pickup truck. At other times I just laugh to myself. On Thursday I pulled into a parking lot where there weren’t many open spots. But there was a pickup truck taking four spaces in the lot. I guess the owner didn’t want to get any scratches or dents, as if it was being used as a work vehicle. I found a parking space, so this was a time when I laughed.

***

This morning’s music was The Best Of Delaney & Bonnie . When Soul Shake started playing I decided that being old means people expect you to be hard of hearing, and so you can crank up the volume. That’s what I did.

