Tags

, ,

Roadside beauty

Some say flower, some say weed. I say beautiful shade of blue.

***

I’m having trouble composing today. Finding a photo was easy…well, easy except that I took five pictures today that I would be happy to publish, but my overall plan is to use a photo each day that I took that day. I’ve only missed once. I’m guessing that some readers wished I had missed more often because some photos that I did post were not so great.

Getting back to composition: I just purchased the fourth and final book concerning the commissions of Augustus Mandrell. Mr. Mandrell is a character created by Frank McAuliffe. He appeared in three books Of All The Bloody Cheek, Rather A Vicious Gentleman, and For Murder I Charge More. I bought and read the paperbacks in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. I loved them and have returned to them a number of times. A fourth book was written in 1975 but was not published until 2010. The reason given was that the title and subject, Shoot The President, Are You Mad?, would not be well taken by the public who were still mourning the assassination of President Kennedy. That’s a shame, because if it had been published then, there might have been more Mandrell books written and published. Unfortunately Mr. McAuliffe died in 1986.

I plan on reading the book soon, but before I get to it I’ve promised myself that I would read two Modesty Blaise novels that I recently found on the Internet. I believe I read the first three books in the series before I found out that the novels came after the characters were well established in a newspaper comic strip in England. I now own most of then novels and seven or eight books that have reprints of the comic strips. I plan on buying the rest of the novels and books of comic strips as time goes by. Modesty Blaise and Willie Garvin are two of my favorite fictional characters.

***

Some of the comments I receive about the blog are spam, and hilarious. Here is one that I got yestreday:

Outstanding post, I conceive website owners should larn a lot from this weblog its rattling user genial. So much excellent information on here :D .

