Tags

,

A simple summer picture

I love days like this. I suppose that is the reason I chose to use this picture from this morning, rather than the other three I had taken. One of the others had a barn and another had a piece of rusting farm equipment. Both are good pictures, in my opinion, but this simple shot is my favorite. The others will most likely end up on my Facebook page in the near future.

***

When I woke up this morning I could tell that I was in the beginning stages of developing an ingrown toenail. Then I remembered that I no longer have that toe. Even knowing the reality, I could feel the nail growing into the side of the toe. Very weird!

***

About a week after I got out of the hospital I decided to try creating a dish that had been thinking about for a while. It is my version of Nachos, and I tried it because Cindy seems to love them. This is what I did:

1 lb. of ground chuck, browned and drained of excess grease. 16 oz. of Picante sauce (I used mild because Cindy sometimes has a bad reaction to spicy food). 1 can of Campbell’s Nacho Cheese soup. 1 cup of chopped yellow peppers. 1 tablespoon of minced garlic. 2 or 3 green onions, chopped. Tortilla chips (I prefer the lime flavored kind). Sour Cream. Ground pepper and salt.

After browning and draining the ground chuck, add the Picante sauce and increase the temperature to thicken the sauce. Then add the can of soup and mix well. When that has heated well, reduce the heat and stir in the peppers and garlic. Simmer for about 15 minutes.

Serve by layering a plate with tortilla chips and covering with the nacho mixture. salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with the chopped green onions and sour cream.

Cindy said she loved it, but I think that the next time I cook it I will cut the amount of Picante sauce by half and add 8 oz. of salsa. A recipe is never set in stone.

