Tags

, ,

In need of some repair

It would probably be cheaper to put up a new structure rather than repair this one. I guess this is another example of our throwaway society. Still, a building in good repair would not make as good a picture.

When I went downstairs to get a cup of coffee this morning I found a DVD set of the first season of The Adventures Of Robin Hood starring Richard Green. I watched this television show when I was a kid.

   Robin Hood, Robin Hood riding through the glen.

   Robin Hood, Robin Hood with his band of men.

   Feared by the bad.

   Loved by the good.

   Robin Hood, Robin Hood, Robin Hood. 

I remember this much of the theme song after all of these years. I say all of these years because the show first aired more than fifty years ago. It’s amazing what useless information I retain while forgetting important stuff. I’ve been something of a Robin Hood fan since I was a kid.

One of my favorite movies is The Adventures of Robin Hood starring Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, and Basil Rathbone. The movie was made in 1938, before my time, but I watched it nearly every year on WGN’s Family Classics television show hosted by Frazier Thomas (of Garfield Goose fame). That show introduced me to many movies; some that I still watch on a regular basis such as Captain Blood also starring Errol Flynn, and The Mark of Zorro starring Tyrone Power. I should point out that Basil Rathbone was a villain in all three of those movies, and was killed in sword fights with the heroes. In the end life can be cruel to the villain. 

In the seventies I watched Robin of Sherwood starring Michael Praed and then Jason Connery as Robin. That show brought a mystical element to the legend, and I appreciated it. Of course, the lovely Judy Trott starring as Marian didn’t hurt a bit. 

More recently, starting in 2006, a new television show Robin Hood started broadcasting in England. So far I’ve seen the first season and part of the second season thanks to the local library. It is good, but it is too new for it to be a favorite yet.

I don’t want to forget mentioning Robin and Marian starring Sean Connery, father of Jason, and Audrey Hepburn. It is a truly enjoyable film. The Russell Crowe Robin Hood film is also worthy. The less I say about casting Kevin Costner as Robin in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves the better.

I’ve also enjoyed Stephan Lawhead’s trilogy of books, “Hood,” “Scarlet,” and “Tuck.” He has moved the stories to Wales in the eleventh century, but they are good books. I have also enjoyed many comic book versions of Robin Hood over the years. Robin Hood is truly a character that will never grow old in my mind…except the Sean Connery version.

