Tags

Simple yet stately

I have been impressed by this house since the first time I saw it many years ago. It is not in a great neighborhood; in fact it appears to be the oldest place in the neighborhood, as if the surrounding property was sold off willy-nilly. The owners have a big enough yard, that is well-kept, that the neighboring homes don’t seem to intrude. Maybe I just like it because it is the oldest and only two-storey house in the area.

I was listening to a cd with a variety of music on it earlier this afternoon while reading the latest Smithsonian magazine. The Hollies, singing All I Need Is The Air That I Breathe came on, and I had to stop reading to listen. The lyrics are simple, the musical arrangement lush. It is one of those songs that make me stop whatever I’m doing so I can concentrate on just the song. I love music, all kinds of music, but there are only a relatively few songs that make me stop like that.

I can think of a few other songs off the top of my head that demand my attention. There is Ahmad Jamal playing Poinicana; Frank Sinatra singing All Or Nothing At All on the Strangers In The Night album; Artur Rubinstein playing Chopin’s “Heroic” Polonaise in A-flat major, Op. 53; and Sparky Rucker’s version of Railroad Bill all make me stop and listen. There are other songs as well, but I won’t think of them until I hear them again. I wish I could identify what it is about such disparate selections, but that would mean giving it more thought than I am prepared to do right now. Maybe some day when I’m really bored.
 
Marlon is spending another couple of nights with us. I had thought he was going home today, and stayed home waiting for Trina to pick him up, but it didn’t happen. Ah well. I hope we have enough dog food in the house.
